Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Newbie with a 53 Studebaker Coupe

Just wanted to say hey and I am new to the pro touring world. Old drag racer with a history of narrowed 9" in a tubbed Mustang back in the 70's. Need direction for my new project..pro tourning a 1953 Studebaker Coupe. Clean body shell and floors gutted. All I know is low, fat tires ,big brakes and pump gas motor. Any ideas? Chassis? Suspension?

Country Flag: United States
      Post up some pics. Probably cusotm make all your own suspension. Is this a full frame car or a unibody?
      Welcome!!

It has a full frame but I prefer not to use it. I have seen one fitted with a Art Morrison unit from their Tri-5 setup. Thanks..pics soon!

I have a picture in my garage of a 53 salt flat. They look great slammed with a chopped roof. There are a few full frames could you have built for you.

Here a pic of what I will be starting with and a 3D model that got me thinking.. minus the pro-stock hood scoop. oddly enough if you look closely, this one was going to be a salt flat car with one laid back headlight opening for cleaner air flow. I wish that it wasn't done but I basically got the car for free. They still make a fiberglass front end and separate hood so...
      Attached Images Attached Images    

Nice man I like it
      Phillip
      64 Studebaker Daytona Twin Turbo- http://bit.ly/1SgxQ0g
      65 Cutlass F-85 - http://bit.ly/1W4lJm4

I like the laid back headlights. Throw in some mercedes lights.

Welcome! A young friend of mine has been building one for several years. Believe it or not, when he was about 10-11 years old he decided thats what he wanted to build to drive when he got his license! He's about to turn 16 and he's almost got the car drivable. He called this afternoon and said he may be able to drive it around the block this weekend.