Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
      Country Flag: United States

how to take GREAT photos

i'm starting this thread to get some tips for taking great photos. if the professional photographers on the board could post some of their best pics, how they took the photo, camera make/model, time of day the photo was shot (i'm finding the angle of the sun can make the biggest difference), etc., then i think we could have a pretty decent thread. also, amatuer photographers, like me, can post pics they've found on the internet and "ask the pros" how such photos were shot. i'll start.

what time of day was this first photo shot? also, is it overcast outside? is taking a photo when it's overcast a good idea?

i know the below pic has something to do w/ exposure rate, but that's where my knowledge ends. how did he do this?

I'm not a pro photographer by any means but ill just throw in what i have heard. First thing I have heard is that sunrise and sunset are the best time to take pics, not to sure why, so maybe someone could elaborate on that?

second is about the cameras, I'm sure most/all the pros are using DSLR cameras, which can get expensive, the best thing for amatures would be to get a smaller camera with different options, setting and adjustments. I sold cameras for a few months around christmas time, so thats just my input of what i picked up when i was there.

Second pic you hold the shutter open longer. Anything that moves becomes a blur. I believe this is how they get those shots of cars on an interstate where their headlights and tailights look continuous.
      Andrew
      1987 Olds Cutlass Supreme FE3X Clone
      EFI455/T56/9" w/ 4.30 gears
      __________________________________________________ __

you sure they didnt blast by with the firetruck and he got it just at the right time..lol..cool pics indeed i just point and shoot and hope they come oput ok..lol