Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Which Way to Go??

Acquired a car that was already built utilizing Baer Brakes (I know Wilwood sponsors this sub forum).

Car has an LS9 Crate Engine - Baer Disks - Baer Remaster Master Cylinder.

Issue is the car has a ‘generic’ brass proportioning valve and lots of messy coiled hard lines under the Brake Booster / MC. I would like to swap out the ‘generic’ proportioning valve with the nice Baer Remaster P-Valve than mounts directly underneath the MC and has pre-fabbed hard lines for a clean installation.

But … In looking things over, I see I have a 1-1/8” Master Cylinder - which I understand is ‘generally’ recommended for Hydroboost Systems. Most folks recommend a 1” MC for Vacuum Booster (NON-Hydro) Power Brakes.

I will say, at times, the brake pedal feels a little ‘soft’ and I occasionally need to lift the brake pedal with my toe in order to get a full return of the pedal to de-activate the brake light switch.

One acquaintance suggested stepping down to the 15/16” Master and matching Prop valve and ditching the Brake Booster all together.

On the other hand, if I’ve got a nice vacuum booster - and stepping down to a 1” MC and Prop Valve will clean things up and give me a firmer pedal - maybe that’s the way to go?

Last option is get the nice, matching 1-1/8” Proportioning Valve from Baer so I have the correct diameter if I ever want to go Hydroboost.

Right now, I am leaning toward getting the 1” MC and P-Valve, getting rid of the generic brass P-valve and messy coiled hard lines and calling it a day.

Any thoughts / experience greatly appreciated.

Thank You!

What brakes are on the car? That will go a long way towards determining what bore master cylinder to use. A smaller diameter master cylinder will not give a firmer pedal, but will give you more line pressure at the calipers with the same force input on the pedal.

Todd Z.