Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Hybrid View

Country Flag: United States

Silicone bronze technique for structural integrity

I'm going to weld the lower quarter seam to the rocker on a 77 trans am today. I want to fill it with silicone bronze. I've never done that before. I cut the flange off the new quarter since it's otherwise inaccessible for welding with the outer wheel house already installed.

Do I need to put some strong tacks in place to structurally hold the panel in place and then fill the gaps and any recessese and go over the steel filler tacks with silicone bronze to ensure it doesn't pop or come loose later?

So you cut the flange off the quarter that would have been spot welded to the rocker?

If that is the case, and you intend to butt weld the quarter to the rocker with silicone bronze, I wouldn't. That filler is terrible for a butt weld.......especially if you haven't worked with it before.

SilBronze works great for filling those seams.....after they are spot welded together.
      Donny

Support your local hot rod shop!

Quote Originally Posted by dontlifttoshift View Post
      So you cut the flange off the quarter that would have been spot welded to the rocker?

If that is the case, and you intend to butt weld the quarter to the rocker with silicone bronze, I wouldn't. That filler is terrible for a butt weld.......especially if you haven't worked with it before.

SilBronze works great for filling those seams.....after they are spot welded together.