Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Shock selection for HPDE NASCAR

I've got a NASCAR road course chassis I'm building into an HPDE track day car. I'm still new to this game so I'm not looking to set any records. I am thinking about what shocks to purchase and I honestly don't know where to start. I honestly don't think I'd get to the point where I'd be trying to adjust them to improve handling performance until I get waaaay down the line. So I would suppose that non-adjustable would be fine. But I still don't know what specs I should be looking for.

Here are the specs for the car:
      3200 lbs
      Truck arm rear
      Double a arm front
      450 HP 383
      4 speed dog ring transmission

Any advice? What might be a good starting point?

Country Flag: United States
      Shocks are one of the most critical parts to handling performance. For budget conscious folks I always recommend ridetech single adjustable shocks.

I’d highly recommend talking to JJ at Ultimate Performance for shock advice and purchasing. https://upspeedshop.com/
      Please Subscribe to the AutoXandTrack YouTube Channel

Autocross and track blog about running autocross and track events with pro touring cars

As someone who is on their 3rd set of shocks since starting their build, I'll throw in some advice. I thought with my first set I wouldn't need adjustables either. I was wrong, way wrong. Right away I wanted to make changes and I was stuck.

You don't have to get super high dollar adjustables, but I would certainly get adjustables.
      http://www.TheFOAT.com/92GTA
      1969 Pontiac Firebird
      w/535ci IAII aluminum block, Dailey dry sump, Holley EFI (full road race build). Primer black w/black interior.
      1992 Pontiac Trans Am GTA w/SLP Performance Package. Dark Jade Grey Metallic, grey leather, T-Tops.