Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Where to start front suspension

I have started measuring and working out options for control arm pivots on my 55 TBird
      i am using m11 spindles with 2/12” drop. I can lower the bottom control arm pivot about 1” which brings it to almost level. They are about 17” long
      My first question is anti dive? How do I do this correctly?
      And lower control arm length, if I can make them and few more inches longer, should I?

I will also be lowering the upper pivot points to match the amount changed at lower pivot, plus 1” for the spindle being 1” closer between joints, compared to original.
      I am also trying to work out if I should include 1/2”-1” extra. Shelby mod. Style.
      I am yet to measure completely roll centre but read it should be about 2-4” from the ground.

I am a newbie at this and appreciate any help I can get.

Country Flag: United States
      This is beyond my pay grade, but hopefully someone will chime in.

Andrew
      1970 GTO Version 3.0
      1967 Cougar build
      GM High-Tech Performance feature
      My YouTube Channel Please Subscribe!
      Instagram @projectgattago
      Dr. EFI
      I deliver what EFI promises.
      Remote Holley EFI tuning.
      Please get in touch if I can be of service.

"You were the gun, your voice was the trigger, your bravery was the barrel, your eyes were the bullets." ~ Her

So I measured up some data points
      and hoping someone can help with positioning the UCA pivots and length?
      LCA length will be 23.6” with the pivot and ball joint being 5.7” from ground. This places the the pivot 1.77” from the chassis centre and ball joint 25.37”
      The UCA ball joint is 16.53” from the ground and 23.15” from the centre.
      Scrub radius is about 6” over 2” at 2* camber
      Wish at this point I started with better spindles
      Making the track measure 57.5”