Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

68 Camaro Front Disc Brake Kit suggestions

Hello, read many threads but haven't found exact answers matching my need. Please ignore my amateur level, im new with classics.

Currently working on suspension setup, but want to start planning/saving for Disc brake setup.

I don't know what rotor or pads etc I have on. Built by a previous owner. After my LS2 Swap, car doesn't brake well. Very weak.

Note: Just street driven, no track/autocross.

Wheel size:
      17x8, 4.5b/s, 0mm offset, 5x120.65 bolt pattern

Here's are my amateur questions:

1) Someone mentioned, just changing the fronts would be fine, yes?

2) Do you advise for a whole Front Disc kit?

3) Do you advise I replace one item from my current setup?

3) When advising, if you can please add the Item SKU number so I can look it up on summit etc..
      Also, if this "item" is direct replacement/fit or needs other components/modification.

Here's a photo of my brakes.

Name:  IMG_1992.JPG
Views: 2068
Size:  87.8 KB

Name:  IMG_9622.JPG
Views: 2156
Size:  62.1 KB

Thank you
      1968 Camaro SS | LSx 364ci
      T-56 | RT StreetGrip | RT Steering Kit | TRSD Disc Brakes | Wilwood Dual Piston

Country Flag: United States
      There has to be something simple that's wrong here. Swapped in an LS2 and now your brakes are weak doesn't make sense.

Bleed the brakes, make sure your vacuum is connected to the booster, get a vacuum gauge on your booster (see if it holds vacuum), etc.

Quote Originally Posted by F-Body International View Post
      There has to be something simple that's wrong here. Swapped in an LS2 and now your brakes are weak doesn't make sense.

Bleed the brakes, make sure your vacuum is connected to the booster, get a vacuum gauge on your booster (see if it holds vacuum), etc.
      Either that, or the LS2 has a large cam that does not make enough vacuum.
      Tu Ho
      Firebird V2-LS swap