Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
      Country Flag: United States

1970 Pontiac Grand Prix, too HEAVY?

About to dive into a fun project: transforming my 1970 Pontiac Grand Prix into a pro touring machine. Though I’m new to this, I do know that weight (and weight distribution) is a crucial factor in building a car for autocross/road course racing. So the big question is: how heavy is TOO HEAVY?

The ‘70 Grand Prix is a beast, 118” wheelbase and 4,000+ lbs. I’m concerned that I might be headed down the wrong path with such a heavy machine. It’s a great street cruiser so I don’t plan on “gutting” the car to remove weight. Just wondering if I ought to hold off and try to build a much lighter car. (I don’t have the funds to acquire a ‘69 or ‘70 firebird, but damn that would be fun!) Anyway, is 4,000+ lbs (without driver) just too much??Name:  IMG_5706.JPG
Views: 1789
Size:  634.9 KBName:  IMG_5311.JPG
Views: 1970
Size:  856.9 KBName:  IMG_5252.JPG
Views: 1925
Size:  838.7 KB

It’s heavy. But even more so is the aftermarket support for suspension setup is limited. Unless you keep it close to stock.
      I would personally build a A body not a full size.
      1971 Camaro - 406 / T56
      2016 Camaro SS convertible
      2018 Colorado 4x4

Im pretty sure this body style shares suspension with the A-body.

Weight is only relevant if you want to be competetive. Suspension, tires, and setup will make these pleny of fun but if your chasing lighter or newer cars then weight is a concern. Whats the typical front rear bias? I think these are pretty nose heavy which certainly doesnt help.

From what I’ve learned, the suspension is 100% A-body, so luckily parts are everywhere. It’s essentially a ‘stretched A-body’ with 6 extra inches in the middle. Technically referred to as a G-body.