Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Sensor location

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    112
    Country Flag: Belgium

    Sensor location

    Simple question, simple solution most likely....

    In the right is my sensor for the electric fan, to the left is going to be the connection for the heater.
    So where can i install my temperature sensor for the temp gauge inside the car?





    I was thinking to put it on the thermostat, remove the bolt holding it and screw it in there,
    Is that a possibility?
    First build guys, most of this is new to me...


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Jersey Shore
    Posts
    603
    Country Flag: United States
    your temp gauge sensor is going to be NPT thread, where your thermostat housing bolts are likely just NC... if there are no other port locations on the engine, you could get a T fitting (which wouldnt look so great IMO) or drill and tap the manifold for another port near the thermostat
    -Chris
    '69 Corvette
    '55 Chevy Hardtop
    AutoWorks Middletown, NJ
    @autoworksnj for corvette and shop car pics
    https://www.pro-touring.com/showthre...e-Build-Thread

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Kankakee IL
    Posts
    85
    There’s no port at the fan for the fan sensor?

    Or, is there a way to split the signal from one sensor to two units?
    Tracey

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    112
    Country Flag: Belgium
    Quote Originally Posted by vette427-sbc View Post
    your temp gauge sensor is going to be NPT thread, where your thermostat housing bolts are likely just NC... if there are no other port locations on the engine, you could get a T fitting (which wouldnt look so great IMO) or drill and tap the manifold for another port near the thermostat
    I agree on the T fitting not looking nice....but so far it looks like the only option, not that keen on drilling a hole in the intake..
    See no other connections besides a few higher on the intake, close to the carburator, but those are only letting air flow through, correct?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsaints1115 View Post
    There’s no port at the fan for the fan sensor?

    Or, is there a way to split the signal from one sensor to two units?
    And was thinking about this too, but i think this means getting a T fitting as Vette said...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    112
    Country Flag: Belgium
    As said, one port left next to the car , but this is not letting water trough or is it??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Kankakee IL
    Posts
    85
    That's a vacuum port for the #4 cylinder.

    What I meant on one sensor/2 units was to run the wiring for the fan and gauge to one sensor. It's a temp sensor, it provides a reading that the fan/gauge act off of. Why would the sensor care how many things are receiving that signal?
    Tracey

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    112
    Country Flag: Belgium
    Quote Originally Posted by Tsaints1115 View Post
    That's a vacuum port for the #4 cylinder.

    What I meant on one sensor/2 units was to run the wiring for the fan and gauge to one sensor. It's a temp sensor, it provides a reading that the fan/gauge act off of. Why would the sensor care how many things are receiving that signal?
    Good one, makes sense what you are saying but i think, and it just a tought,
    the sensor for the fan is for 200fahrenheit, so i will probably only send a signal once its reaches that temperature on which the fan will activate.

    Will give it a try though!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Kankakee IL
    Posts
    85
    Does it "send a signal" or a constant reading that the fan activates once it reaches temp?

    Much like a fuel level sender sends a constant signal to be read by that gauge?

    I could be completely wrong but it's worth a shot.
    Tracey

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    112
    Country Flag: Belgium
    Quote Originally Posted by Tsaints1115 View Post
    Does it "send a signal" or a constant reading that the fan activates once it reaches temp?

    Much like a fuel level sender sends a constant signal to be read by that gauge?

    I could be completely wrong but it's worth a shot.
    got fuel pump issues now, so before i can test this i need to sort the fuel pump our and might have to buy a new one so this will take a few weeks...
    Will get back to you on this one!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    453
    Country Flag: United States
    Is something like this available for the engine you're using?
    https://www.cjponyparts.com/thermost...5-1973/p/TH16/

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    112
    Country Flag: Belgium
    Quote Originally Posted by JustJohn View Post
    Is something like this available for the engine you're using?
    https://www.cjponyparts.com/thermost...5-1973/p/TH16/
    should be....will look around,
    engine is a 408 based on the 351w.
    Just need a thermostat that is angled 90degrees up for the radiator hose. ( no space for a straight connection).

    Thanks for the tip!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Yuma, AZ
    Posts
    600
    Country Flag: United States
    Give this a try, it has a spot on top you can drill and tap to put a sensor. I have the same housing on my car, since it's a real Ford part it's good unlike most aftermarket housings.

    https://www.summitracing.com/parts/f...-m90/overview/
    Nelson
    1969 Chevelle "Cone Smasher" Family Project
    https://www.pro-touring.com/threads/...uot?highlight=

    1984 "Rustang" GT, 5.0, 5 Speed Project
    https://www.pro-touring.com/threads/...T-(Slow-Build)