Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Pacifica
    Posts
    75
    Country Flag: United States

    Default Master disconnect switch on ecm cars

    How are you guys dealing with a master kill switch if the car has a modern swapped engine in it where most things are running through an ecm (fuel,ignition, etc)? My first thinking was that a a kill switch to the ecm and alternator would shut the car down quickly, but the fuel trims would need relearning each time on the ecm. Not sure if that adds wear to the computer system overtime. Curious how others have set this up as I would like to set one up for my track days that I can reach from the drivers seat and also use it in the garage when I need to cut power while working on it. Thanks
    Cheers
    Dustin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    272
    Country Flag: United States

    Default

    I would cut the power to the ignition coil, injector 12v and fuel pump. That would kill the car but not cause relearning.
    1972 Plymouth 'Cuda - Not LS-swapped, 5.7L Hemi [MS3 Gold Box], T56 Magnum 6-speed1976 Dodge D100 - Warlock
    2016 Subaru WRX - E30 Tune
    .


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Pacifica
    Posts
    75
    Country Flag: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GoodysGotaCuda View Post
    I would cut the power to the ignition coil, injector 12v and fuel pump. That would kill the car but not cause relearning.
    I'm starting to fell the same way. Thought I could simplify some of the wiring by just triggering the ecm/alternator off but think I don't want to relearn each time I use the switch. Ive seen some cars setup this way but maybe they only plan on using it in emergencies instead of dual purpose like me. Thanks
    Cheers
    Dustin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I believe there is a way to keep the ECM memory active by simply running a small gauge wire that has a very low amperage fuse to the power source of the ECM. I am not sure how to do this but I know it is possible. I am hoping someone on this site can tell us how.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    305

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    447

    Default

    This, https://www.summitracing.com/parts/aww-500778





Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •