Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

    Login / Register



    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    1. #1
      Join Date
      Nov 2005
      Location
      livermore ca
      Posts
      718

      lt1 fuel return line question

      i am new at building lt1 motors and dont quite understand somthing maybe u can help me out.

      do lt1 fuel injection motors need a return line? for some reason i think i saw on some post that they do so i was going to run a fuel sump on my stock tank and run a msd elecric fuel pump but i dont know if i need that sump if i dont need a return line?

    2. #2
      Join Date
      Jul 2005
      Location
      Eastern Virginia
      Posts
      3,928
      Country Flag: United States
      You do need a return line. I used the factory return line on my Monte for it. Factory LT1 cars use 5/16 line.
      Scot
      86 Monte SS
      Soon to get a near 500hp LS2/T56
      https://www.pro-touring.com/showthre...getting-an-LS2

    3. #3
      Join Date
      Nov 2005
      Location
      livermore ca
      Posts
      718
      ya thats what i thought thanks il have to get that sump becuase it has a return line an fitting on it and my stock tank dose not becuase the motor is goin in to a 65 chevelle

    4. #4
      Join Date
      Jan 2005
      Location
      Mantorville, MN
      Posts
      775
      Country Flag: United States
      Can you guys post pics of your LT1 installs? I'm doing the same right now and need some ideas and inspiration to keep making progress.



    5. #5
      Join Date
      Jul 2005
      Location
      Eastern Virginia
      Posts
      3,928
      Country Flag: United States
      My guess is the opening in the tank is the same as what the Monte is. Couldn't you just get a sending unit from something with fuel injection & use the return connection from it & run the line in the same fashion as the feed line?

      Scot
      Scot
      86 Monte SS
      Soon to get a near 500hp LS2/T56
      https://www.pro-touring.com/showthre...getting-an-LS2

    6. #6
      Join Date
      Nov 2005
      Location
      livermore ca
      Posts
      718
      i could but i dont belive it is that simple. ill just run the sump run the line to my fuel rails and then run a line from the other rail to the fuel pressuer regulator and from the regulator to the return line coming out of the sump

    7. #7
      Join Date
      Nov 2005
      Location
      livermore ca
      Posts
      718
      Quote Originally Posted by Derek69SS
      Can you guys post pics of your LT1 installs? I'm doing the same right now and need some ideas and inspiration to keep making progress.

      i have not installed mine yet im still getting things ready so i can install it


      here is a pic of the motor but all the goodies that go on it are not on in this pic