Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Country Flag: United States

67 GTO in Knoxville TN, auto engineer background

Greetin's, y'all! So I've owned my GTO since May 13th, 1989. Bought it when I was 15 out of Stockbridge, GA (I'm from nearby Griffin). Mild rebuild of engine in HS when time and money allowed, cheap backyard paint job when I graduated, and drove it for about half of my freshman year at Georgia Tech. Was involved in the local GTO club (SEGTOAA) and it was one of the two cars used on the stuff (shirts, plaques, etc.) when we hosted the 97 Nationals. Got tired of it being around show cars, so I decided I'd "scuff it and shoot it" when I was in grad school. Which just doesn't work for me, so I ended up replacing one quarter panel, a patch of another, stripped down to bare metal, shot it in EP, and ended up running out of time as I was wrapping up my thesis. Then 67Queen and I moved to SE Michigan where I did engine development for Ford, and she did her residency then fellowship at UM. And then we had kids. And then I got into Turbo Fords. And, and, and......I'm sure y'all know the drill.

Anyway, moved to Knoxville, I went through some start up companies, got into road course stuff (I've been though some 944/968's, still have a couple, one is a race car). Thought I was going to be able to have the bodywork done a few years ago. I've painted a few cars, and I just absolutely hate doing bodywork, but I also want the GTO done right. Guy who was going to do it ended up going through a divorce, and now lives in Nebraska, where he does some hot rod work.

At any rate, my father recently passed away, and the GTO was one thing of mine he always loved. Went to the car shows with me, helped me out (though he wasn't mechanical) any time and way he could. So I've already talked to 67Queen about it, and she is good with me going ahead with things.