Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default Why does this forum destroy post fomatting?

    Check this post: https://www.pro-touring.com/threads/...96#post1270596 It was nicely formatted with sentence breaks and paragraphs. But now has all sentences run together. WHY? Bob. P.S. I'll bet this post does the same. As posted there are sentences that are blank line separated... - - - Updated - - - Yep, all sentences in this post run together... Bob.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Thousand Oaks California
    Posts
    9,494
    Country Flag: United States

    Default

    This is something that I have not seen before.

    Are you writing your posts is something like word and then pasting it here?
    Larry Callahan
    Founder/Administrator of Pro-Touring.com & G-Machines.com
    To advertise on Pro-Touring.com click here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    5,495
    Country Flag: United States

    Default

    This can happen if trying to copy/paste the text used in another forum as well. Ask me how I know.... ;-)
    VaporWorx. We Give You Gas http://www.vaporworx.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default

    The post(s) were typed in via the reply dialog, native to the Pro Touring forum.

    Bob.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    2,241
    Country Flag: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by a67 View Post
    The post(s) were typed in via the reply dialog, native to the Pro Touring forum.

    Bob.
    What browser are you using? It would seem its something user specific based on the fact other posts before and after yours in the same thread had the lines spaced out.

    Big dreams, small pockets....

    Chris--
    '72 Cutlass S LS2/T56 Magnum
    Bowler Performance, Rushforth Wheels, SC&C, ATS, Street Rod Designs, Speedhut, KORE3, Ridetech

    Project Motor City Madness


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by csouth View Post
    What browser are you using? It would seem its something user specific based on the fact other posts before and after yours in the same thread had the lines spaced out.
    Firefox V 52.8.1 Just occurred again: https://www.pro-touring.com/threads/...77#post1271977 That post was opened/entered via a simple reply. The post after that one did the same with a quote (deleted the quoted text), didn't want to actually quote. Just wanted to see if it made a difference. Bob. P.S. just to add this post also has the white-space formatting removed. P.P.S. I am also active on other forums and this issue has not occurred.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default

    Testing

    Testing

    Bob.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default

    Testing1

    Testing2

    Bob.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default

    Testing3

    Testing 4

    Bob.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    2,241
    Country Flag: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by a67 View Post
    Firefox V 52.8.1 Just occurred again: https://www.pro-touring.com/threads/...77#post1271977 That post was opened/entered via a simple reply. The post after that one did the same with a quote (deleted the quoted text), didn't want to actually quote. Just wanted to see if it made a difference. Bob. P.S. just to add this post also has the white-space formatting removed. P.P.S. I am also active on other forums and this issue has not occurred.
    If your Firefox is 64bit, you're waaaaaay behind.

    I'm posting this with Firefox and the version 61.0.1

    I purposely spaced this out.....
    Big dreams, small pockets....

    Chris--
    '72 Cutlass S LS2/T56 Magnum
    Bowler Performance, Rushforth Wheels, SC&C, ATS, Street Rod Designs, Speedhut, KORE3, Ridetech

    Project Motor City Madness

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default

    It is 32 bit and from the ESR channel. No beta testing for me. I have an idea of what is causing the issue, as you can see above those posts formatted correctly.

    Bob.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Thousand Oaks California
    Posts
    9,494
    Country Flag: United States

    Default

    Any thoughts? We have been working on the server in the background and wonder if any changes we made had any effect.
    Larry Callahan
    Founder/Administrator of Pro-Touring.com & G-Machines.com
    To advertise on Pro-Touring.com click here

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default

    A while ago I started running the NoScript add on. Was thinking that it may have been a blocked script that wasn't allowing the proper formatting. But the above tests showed that it may not be that.

    If this post formats properly then it wasn't that (note this line is a new paragraph with a blank line between it and the previous paragraph).

    Bob.
    {edit to add: the formatting is correct}
    {second edit: after adding the edit line the post is now all run together, so something is still wrong}
    Last edited by a67; 08-04-2018 at 08:15 AM. Reason: formatting

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default

    OK, so unless a board change was made it was me. I just made a few posts including editing the above post. And they formatted properly.

    I was only allowing the main board (pro-touring.com) script to run but not the others. So apparently one of the other three scripts was required.

    Bob.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Thousand Oaks California
    Posts
    9,494
    Country Flag: United States

    Default

    Nothing we changed should have had any effect. I'm glad to hear that it's working for you now.
    Larry Callahan
    Founder/Administrator of Pro-Touring.com & G-Machines.com
    To advertise on Pro-Touring.com click here

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    335

    Default

    Thanks, I enabled the jquery and the pt-content scripts. That does the trick.

    I don't like having to run NoScript, but it has gotten to the point on many websites they create dozens of connections to other sites. Talk about using bandwidth and memory, to the point that the PC just slogs down. I've even gone as far to adjust my purchases so I don't have to deal with those sites.

    Bob.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Thousand Oaks California
    Posts
    9,494
    Country Flag: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by a67 View Post
    Thanks, I enabled the jquery and the pt-content scripts. That does the trick.

    I don't like having to run NoScript, but it has gotten to the point on many websites they create dozens of connections to other sites. Talk about using bandwidth and memory, to the point that the PC just slogs down. I've even gone as far to adjust my purchases so I don't have to deal with those sites.

    Bob.
    Sorry for the trouble. I try to keep everything as close as possible. The goal of the site is to survive and not make a living off it. I have a day job for that. LOL!
    Larry Callahan
    Founder/Administrator of Pro-Touring.com & G-Machines.com
    To advertise on Pro-Touring.com click here



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •