Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
      Country Flag: United States

1951 Studebaker Champion Starlite Coupe PT build

Hello: I am new to this forum, but think I have found a home. I have been building my Stude (for the second time), for more years than I care to remember. I first purchased the car in 1965 and built it up primarily as a street/drag car. It was definitely a budget build as I was a college student at the time. I was able to purchase a Dodge V8 from a friend and, along with a Torqueflite transmission, it was installed in my Stude. It made many trips to Lions drag strip as well as San Fernando and Orange County. It was not very fast but I had a lot of fun with that car. I went on active duty with the USN in 1968 and after completing training in late 1969, I was stationed back in California at Alameda Naval Station.
      I found that I had little time for the Stude then so I sold it. I regretted it but did nothing to see if I could find it and get it back. Then in 1993 a friend from my old neighborhood sent me a photo of a Stude that was for sale. When I saw the photo, I instantly knew it was my '51 Stude. I called the guy and verified it was in fact my Stude, and he was willing to sell it. The car was still in California, just a few miles from my Mom's house. I was by then living in Texas, (still am), so I asked him to hold the car until I could fly out there and look at it. It had been repainted, involved in a wreck on the left front of the car and no longer had the engine or transmission in it. We struck a deal and he towed it over to my Mom's house for storage until I could retrieve it. The car needed a total rebuild but it was rust free and the damage was very fixable. But, there is always a but, I was deeply involved in the resto-mod of my '57 Chevy, so the '51 Studebaker had to sit for several years until I could get to it.

The Stude has: