Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 4 5 6 11 ... LastLast
      Country Flag: United States

64.5 Mustang resto-mod

Ok so let me start by saying this build has not been received well by some other forums. Im not restoring the car, im building it the way i want. Otherwise, here we go. I have to say, most of the good feedback ive had has been from people who also post on here, so i figured i would move over to a forum that welcomes custom mods etc....

In 2013 just before the birth of my second daughter i bought a 64 mustang from a friend of mine who needed to clean house. Up to this point i had been involved with old porsches (944's mostly) for about ten years and attending track events almost the whole time. I am a PCA instructor and i love driving at the track and teaching at the track. Even did a short stint with NASA as a 944spec racer. Anyway, the car was missing the motor and trans and despite looking pretty nice, really needed alot of work. I stripped the car down to a shell and had it sand blasted in my driveway at my old house and epoxy primered the whole thing. Not much rust issues, partial ds floor pan replacement and a ps quarter, some small holes here and there but not bad. I built a rotisserie to work on the car for awhile and welded in my frame ties, torque boxes and smoothed under the hood some. I'll skip some time by saying ive had about three of everything, rear ends, engines and transmission setups. I finally settled on biting the bullet and bought a new ford 9", 35 spline and mounted it in the car with an AJE rear susepension and ridetech coilovers. The front end is also AJE which uses late model mustang parts and a custom strut and K member. This allowed me to choose any motor, so i found an LY6 6.0 chev. truck motor(352hp stock) with 7000 miles on it and a t56(AstonMartin) trans to use as well. This more compact motor will be cheaper, take up less room so i dont