Enter your username:
Do you want to login or register?
  • Forgot your password?

Login / Register

Country Flag: United States

SF Bay Area- Mobile carb tuning service. Checking demand.

Hey guys,

I am thinking about starting a side business and want to see what the demand looks like before I get ahead of myself. My idea is to offer a mobile wideband tuning service for Holley carb'd cars. I am an Electrician by day and a car nut the rest of the time....I was looking at starting an Electrical company but my heart is just not in it. Which led me to this idea .....

Specifics:

Meet up, your house/shop in the Bay area.
      Install a temporary wideband kit. I am leaning towards the Innovate LM2 with a tailpipe o2 clamp for no welding etc.
      Take some basic readings and see where it can be improved upon: gas mileage, idle quality, cruise , wot. etc
      Vacuum reading.
      Check base timing/ adv timing.
      Check spark plugs.
      Data log all info.
      I want to come up with a way to keep track of the base tune as well as the final tune on an easy to read chart.
      Email the datalogging and tuning info to the customer for their records.
      Keep a database of all customer cars etc. for future referencing.
      I strongly believe in teaching throughout the entire process, no secrets The customer can help as much as they would like, or just watch.
      Respect all traffic laws which I do always forever and ever and ever anyways.....

This is just some brainstorming for now.

Let me know what you guys think.
      70 Cougar
      Aces Kill shot efi
      Turbocharged 5.0 430hp 488tq
      Tremec 3550
      13" Cobra brakes
      Unisteer Manual rack