PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on 1980 Eldorado 368 TBI for MPG

Ash
05-07-2013, 07:39 AM
Getting pre-qualified for a mortgage this week, and have my eye on a house. The biding of time is coming to an end (single with an income leading towards the modest), and will FINALLY have a covered space to wrench, break stuff, and learn (above the maintenance/bolt-on affair). I am a novice, no bones about it...but have a few long overdue builds lined up. If any group of people can assist with advise on this one, I'm confident they are right here on this very forum.

The car in question is a FWD 1980 Cadillac Eldorado, and I want to see just how efficient it can be made. It's a shame to think how many of these engines were yanked (and surely scrapped) for their 425/500 CID brothers, especially when you see the potential in the foundation that GM laid. The 6.0L 368 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cadillac_V8_engine)is basically a 472/425 block that's been de-stroked. The engine was designed to meet CAFE requirements for fuel economy. It employed GM's earliest throttle-body injection system ("Digital fuel injection"). It's fairly impressive when you look at what primitive tech they had to work with, the size of the engine, and the results they achieved. Again, this all completely revolves around MPG and longevity...improving the HP/TQ upon factory is a bonus. It's a twin injector TBI system with a rats nest of hoses and Atari caliber ECU.

Fuel Economy (http://www.aboutautomobile.com/Fuel/1980/Cadillac/Eldorado)
------------------
Sticker City : 14 MPG
Sticker HWY : 22 MPG
Combined : 17 MPG

EPA revised City : 13 MPG
EPA revised HWY: 20 MPG
EPA Combined : 16 MPG

Specs (http://HTM)
--------
HP = 145@3800
TQ = 265@1600
C/R = 8.20:1
Curb Weight = 3,913 lbs
Drag Coefficient = 0.48