PDA

View Full Version : Hello and intro to my 96 Nissan P'up 'project truck'

MarkG
04-28-2013, 06:31 PM
Hello all. I'm currently a student working on my MIG welder cert at a local college. I have a Hobart Handler 140 and drive a '96 Nissan pickup. It's not modified, but has become a bit of a 'project/test' truck for my newly acquired MIG welding skills and welder. First up was fabbing a new lower radiator support, which had rusted away.

Currently, working on a few patch panals for the bed. It's literally a 'test bed' for trying out some welding and bodywork things. It probably should just be replaced, but as long as I have it, I figured why not get some 'no-pressure' practice on it.

I bought an Eastwood Shrinker and Stretcher and have been experimenting with that with the goal of using it to fab up some rust repair panals. (pictured) I used a sandbag and hammer to do a little tweaking to the flatter portion and it worked very well! I'm learning as I go.75369753707537175372

rchaskin
04-28-2013, 06:38 PM
Go for it!!!

Dont be afraid to try.

welcome to the site.

MarkG
05-11-2013, 07:40 PM
Not welded yet! I got sidetracked into wire brushing/scrapping/ chipping of oodles of rust from the rearend! :S Then changed the fluid. This job enabled the purchase of yet another tool (finally!)-----a breaker bar! I'll give the rearend another going-over and wash it before Ospho-ing it next time I get a chance. And although the ride seems fine to me, I may throw some cheap, but new shocks on just because the old rusted ones will look out of place once it's cleaned up!

MarkG
05-15-2013, 04:45 AM