PDA

View Full Version : Frame Stiffing ERW vs DOM

pontiacmcl
03-22-2013, 07:22 PM
Looking for some input. I am working on an A body (GTO) and am wanting to stiffen it up. I am currently welding the seams up and will be boxing them in. I am looking at doing some thing like what HPI customs (and others ) have done and weld some tubing under the floor board and add a cross member. I am by no means an engineer, so I have some probably basic questions. I for this intended purpose should I go DOM or is ERW more than enough (about 5,000 difference in tensil strength 55000 vs 60000) I am looking at 1 1/2 .125 erw (1018) or .120 dom (1020) . I also have a design question. Here is what I am thinking.
https://static1.pt-content.com/images/pt/2013/03/chevelle_frame0002_zps9b0cbec0-1.jpg
The front to rear tube is straight in this picture with a brace from under the frame in the front up to it. I thought this would add strength to this weak area. Then I might step up to 1.750 tube for the cross members.

Thanks in advance.
David

raustinss
03-23-2013, 04:35 AM
Dave as a fitter the use of dom is more for applications associated with machined parts and machine building which I do both... regular...erw tubing is certainly more then enough for the frame. also for the costs involved I highly recommend going with a hpi frame brace kit. The exhaust hangers and drive shaft loop is also included and look awesome. Again I'm a fabricator and do this stuff all day and will be buying their kit just because they have already done all the work of engineering and all the necessary measuring as to what fits where. Good luck with your build
Ryan

pontiacmcl
03-23-2013, 12:16 PM