PDA

View Full Version : what car for first project?

malMethod
09-05-2004, 02:51 PM
hey everyone! i have been visiting this site for a while now, but only registered today. i must say there are many awesome cars on this website. anyhow, im wanting to start a pro-touring project, and want to find a car. what kind of car is easy to find in decent shape, and has many aftermarket parts for it? which has parts that are easily found at junkyards and such? im a college student who is about to finish in a year, and wanted to start looking into 60s-70s muscle cars.

thanks in advance guys!

Steve Chryssos
09-05-2004, 03:26 PM
Given your current circumstances, I'd get me one of them 78 thru 80-something Malibu's.
https://www.pro-touring.com/featured_cars/Malibu/robert_mccarter_79_malibu/Mvc-002f.jpg

Kenova
09-05-2004, 05:04 PM
I would have to agree with Steve. They are very easy to work with and the aftermarket support for these cars is growing.
Ken

Richz68
09-05-2004, 05:34 PM
You mentioned that you wanted 60-70's muscle and wanted to be able to find parts in junkyards.... well unless you live in a VERY Rural area in the dry West it ain't gonna happen.

You also mentioned that you are a college student which means that you will more than likely need to use it for school travel maybe a commute or just the ocassional trip back home or BEER RUN!! :cheers:

I know it is not a 60-70's muscle car or even a car for that matter, but I have been am lusting over the idea of having a say '88-'94 2WD 2-Door S10 Blazer GMC/Jimmy done up in monochromatic paint scheme to resemble a Typhoon with say a TPI or TBI or possibly a LT1. i think it would be a great looking ride; haul a few buddies on a camping trip or even spring break.

My friend at work just picked up a CLEAN 4.3L black blazer just to drive back and forth to work and I am jealous!! It was CHEAP and it looks soooo good driving down the road every afternoon on the way home.

malMethod
09-05-2004, 05:59 PM