PDA

View Full Version : 1969 Camaro - Where and What disc brakes to buy??

kylewo0
01-25-2013, 06:19 AM
Hi guys,

I will be in the market soon to buy a set of front disc brakes for my 69 Camaro. It has all around drum brakes. I have been out of the car world for a long time and have no clue where to start looking. I have been a member on pro touring for a long time and know this is the place to ask questions if any.

1969 camaro
Would be a weekend car. Not a frame off resto car, something I can drive to the car shows, out to eat, hell maybe even to Arizona one day.)

Also will be looking for a complete inside wire Harness, thinking AAW or Painless, any recommendations? list part number if able. this car has original wires, they are hard, cracked and, kinda all over the place, looking to clean this car up! ;)

Any help is appreciated, Thank you.

a67
01-25-2013, 07:29 AM
I'd be tempted to put stock '69 disc brakes up front. They are the D52 caliper which is quite common, along with an 11" rotor. Will need to either swap or modify the spindles. The anchor boss is shorter with the disc brakes. Will need new front brake hoses as they are different between drum & disc.

The best part is that being stock it all bolts right up. No surprises.

The only other item is proportioning between the front discs & rear drums. What I did when I did this swap was to put slightly smaller wheel cylinders in the back. IIRC, they were for a Monza.

Bob.

im4u2nvss
01-25-2013, 07:58 AM
Check out Kore3, they have lots of good options.

Camaro1968
01-25-2013, 08:42 AM
I bought a set of 4 wheel disc brakes from Right Stuff Detailing. I did a lot of research and found plenty of good reviews to back those up. You can buy kits from most anywhere including matt's classic bowties or summit.