PDA

View Full Version : Adjustable Proportioning Valve location

XLexusTech
01-19-2013, 04:52 AM
i have this crazy idea, I was thinking of mounting the adjustable prop valve to the engine side of the firewall positioned such that i could run the knob stem through the firewall.
Then I would extend the knob stud with a support of course such that i could have the actual knob on the dash.
First has this been done? If so Pics for examples?
Second does the valve have to be mounted in a way that makes this impossible... Most valves i have seen have the knob vertical...

thanks in advance....

BTW the goal is to have access to adjust the balance realtime.. say for example if I am on a long road course.

AintQik
01-19-2013, 07:52 AM
I have a 67 and one of the cars I looked at before this one had it mounted in the floor. I thought it was neat, but could not think of a reason why I would be fussing with it once set. Having said that I am new to racing in anything other than a straight line so I may be missing something.

It could certainly work thru the firewall, but you would need to fab up a long handle. Its probably at least 9" to the dash area.

I mounted mine to the factory bracket for the prop valve on the side of the master. Took a fit of light fab but it looks likes it belongs there.

Munster
01-19-2013, 06:20 PM
I have seen a few that come up thru the floor near the left edge of the drivers seat, just the knob there at floor level, so it is an easy reach down to adjust on the fly for track conditions or brake variances. On the old F bodys there is a two peice front to back brake pipe that can be tapped into right there with out modifing the lines. It is where the old brake balance pressure reg sat.

Apogee
01-19-2013, 08:36 PM