PDA

View Full Version : Cutoff tool?

mudpick
08-08-2005, 08:15 PM
Can someone recommend a cutoff tool? I'm just beginning a mini-tub on my 68 Camaro and am in need of a good cutoff tool for the job. Thanks!

Ralph LoGrasso
08-08-2005, 10:58 PM
I used a 4" metabo grinder for my mini-tub job. Highly recommended grinder, pricey, but one of the best IMHO. I also used a Bosch Jig Saw, Sawz-all, hammer, dolley, air chisel, 110 mig and a bunch of other tools. A 4" grinder with a cut-off wheel works wonders, though. A plasma cutter would do even better..

mikey
03-04-2006, 09:30 PM
Pnuematic die grinders work great also plus you can also put all different styles of carbide bits in them for various small grinding jobs.

Jim Nilsen
03-05-2006, 11:19 AM
Rotozip makes a set that is like a die grinder and and can add an attachment that will make it an angle grinder. The rpms are good along with being variable speed and the amp ratings are better than most angle grinders. The way it will feel in your hand when using it is more comfortable. You can also use it for so many other things that the $175 cost for them is more than worth it. I truly love mine and have never used my other angle grinder since. The handle is just soooo much more comfortable. Plus you get the see thru sanding disc setup that makes fabbing stuff up a breeze. The variable speed is something you won't get on any other angle grinder.
The model I have is the REVOLUTION and it even has led lights that really work to light up what you are doing. I believe I saw a new super dooper set that they just came out with a couple of months ago.

Jim Nilsen

VenturaII
03-05-2006, 01:27 PM
I bought a Matco that will reverse. You can throw the sparks away from you when needed. 4" Grinders work well also, but I tend to use a lot of cutoff wheels. I like the 3m 1/32 4" cutoff wheels. They last a long time.

CAMAROBOY69
03-06-2006, 06:27 AM