PDA

View Full Version : water damage

instro84
01-05-2013, 09:47 PM
came home from xmas vacation with about 2 inches of standing water and water still pouring from ceiling from a broken pipe. anyone got any advice or experience with water damage claims i'm new to this. already had plumber come out and identify/repair broken pipe now restoration people are in the process of removing everything that got wet including carpet drywall and tile in kitchen. i been snapping pics of everything and state farm has been pretty good so far, any advice would be appreciated.

shmoov69
01-05-2013, 10:30 PM
Sorry to hear man, that sucks!!

I had a washer hose break once and dump around 20,000gal under the house....via the utility room, kitchen, dining room and living room floors!! LOL! We had State Farm and didn't have any problems at all. Just keep track of ALL your receipts and make sure that the restoration people aren't sticking it to the insurance and force YOU to pay the difference! Make sure that they get dehumidifiers and dry it ALL out because it could cause mold, not a big deal in most cases....but there are a few that create all kinds of problems.

vintageracer
01-06-2013, 08:07 AM
Should be an easy process with insurance. Just make SURE the claim is filed properly under your policy as a water claim.

Always better IF you have pictures of the home before the damage to show the condition before the loss.

It's a good idea every year to take digital pictures with dates of your home inside and outside for insurance purposes just in case you have a loss such as above. Include pictures of items of value and always record the serial numbers of any electronic item you purchase.

mpozzi
01-06-2013, 09:05 AM
Your insurance will pay for restoration for the "resulting damage" to the home. This would include carpeting, floors, furniture ... that sort of stuff. It wouldn't cover "the cause" and in your case this would be the broken pipe.