PDA

View Full Version : Tool Discussion?

Vicinity
11-04-2012, 07:39 AM
So, I'm looking to start my tool collection over (I have a bunch of crappy Stanley stuff I'd like to replace), and I've been using Snap-On lately, and I really love it. Can't really afford it, so I've been looking at USA alternatives. I'm fond of the Black Oxide finish over the polish tools, they feel better in my hand.

So I've been looking at Snapon, Blue Point, Mac, and Matco, all of which are SUPER expensive. I recently came across Armstrong. It meets all my requirements, USA made, black oxide finish (although it seems to be really hard to find a 3/8 ratchet), tear drop head ratchets, etc.

But, I've never used them, do they feel as good and work as good as Snapon type tools? Any other recommendations for lower budget tools?

I have a Craftsman ratchet, but its a round head and has too much slop.

silvermonte
11-04-2012, 10:09 AM
A few years back while I was in the Air Force I worked as a mechanic on fighter jets, at my first base that had a much higher budget for tools I got to use Snap On hand tools, never had a problem with them EVER, my only problem was with how much the government paid for those Snap On tools, it had to of been at least 5x what you would pay a snap on dealer for them, but anyways my 2nd base that I got stationed at was a training base and the Air Force didnt see a need to buy the snap on tools there, we honestly didnt do near the volume of work at that base and as a result I used Armstrong tools there, their sockets worked ok and on occasion I would break the gears inside the ratchets, I would compair them to craftsman stuff.