PDA

View Full Version : 10" sub?

diesel25lrs
09-28-2012, 04:23 PM
Has anyone mounted a free air sub in the package tray of a 1st gen? Im looking at doing 6x9s in normal spots with a 10" in the middle... I don't want to put a big box in the trunk...Im a novice when it comes to stereo stuff so not sure of the sound quality?

Ron.in.SoCal
09-28-2012, 05:48 PM
I looked into this as well Josh. Most stereo experts told me it needs a box to optimize the sound. You could still put it in the package tray though...

diesel25lrs
09-28-2012, 06:02 PM
Ron- glad i wasn't the only one thinking this...

The thing is- i plan on enclosing majority of my trunk with MDF to hide the sides & back- thus somewhat making a box under the package tray area... Make sense?

cmac06
09-28-2012, 06:35 PM
This still won't create a positive seal. The purpose of the box is to provide resistance to cone movement this controlling the linearity of the driver. If you are using that much space, the volume will be so much that it will act as a free air speaker.

astroracer
09-28-2012, 06:42 PM
To optimize the sub, whether ported or unported, the "box" needs to be sized to the speaker. Just building a random box will not necessarily work with the speaker you have. The sub manufacturerer should have numbers for box and port size.
Instead of using MDF to close out your trunk look at using masonite or 1/8th inch thick ABS sheet. They are both a LOT lighter and much easier to work with. If all you are making is close outs they will work much better. The ABS is nice because you don't need to finish it if you don't want to.
Mark

diesel25lrs
09-28-2012, 06:46 PM
Mark-Thanks for the ideas! Although i could use a little more weight in the rear to balance a little better...easier to work with is always better!

Would a free air sub work decent for this application? I don't want a system that rattles teeth- just a little deeper base hit than 6x9s?

zombiekiller
09-29-2012, 04:39 AM