PDA

View Full Version : Measuring bumpsteer and building a gauge

sgernon
08-09-2012, 07:43 AM
After looking at the bumpsteer gauges sold in the market I think I'm going to build my own. I was thinking about possibly making 2 changes to the standard way bumpsteer is measured, let me know your thoughts on if these changes are smart or not. I've never measured this before so I have no real world experience, I'm only thinking about other things I've done in the past with other projects.

1. Rather than using 2 indicators on a flat plate like the Longacre tool I was thinking to make a frame in a Y shape like the quick drawing I made below. Also rather than bolting it on I was thinking to use magnets to connect it to the brake rotor itself. Using the Y shape I would put the indicator at the center and as the spindle turned in or out due to bumpsteer I could see the changes on it without having to calculate anything. Am I missing something here?

2. Rather than remove the springs to check can I simply wrap a chain around the frame and under a floor jack (or bolt to floor jack) to adjust the A-arm travel when measuring? I've used this method in the past for removing springs from cars with no drivetrain installed. Would this method be reliable for measurements? More importantly would anything think there would be a safety concern?

Quick top and side view

David Pozzi
08-13-2012, 08:59 AM
The width being measured needs to be the same as the tire diameter, or if a narrower span is measured, you will need to multiply all readings by a factor.
I put a flat plate where the wheel bolts on but use a tripod base with a frame rising up that is piano hinged to the base. I use one 1" travel dial indicator & on the opposite side use a threaded bolt exactly .5" shorter than the dial indicator when fully extended. Readings start with indicator compressed .5" & this squares the hinge to the plate. This is very important or readings will be off.
I can post a photo if you are interested.