PDA

View Full Version : FAST XFI fuel injectors

J-440
07-01-2012, 02:59 PM
I have a 440 naturally aspirated motor that was built for a supercharger in the future but want to drive the car right now. I have a 2000cfm throttle body and 83lb. injectors pushing 8.5:1 compression. Obviously this is overkill for a non-blown motor but I want to drive the car as is on 89 octane. I had an EFI expert troubleshoot my car, and he explained that if I were to run the car as is, I would lock up the motor because of excessive fuel wash. Now, with the FAST ecm could'nt I just play with the pulse width/timing of the injectors and run the car with no harm or do I need smaller injectors? Thanks for the help.

David Pozzi
07-02-2012, 11:31 PM
I moved this thread to the fuel injection section for you.
I'm no EFI expert but there is a limit to how short you can go on injector pulse width. I would ask about how low you could go on your fuel pressure setting to reduce flow and get the pulse width in a better zone. Using a vacuum referenced fuel pressure regulator would help for example because it would lower pressure at idle, but setting your base pressure lower would help too.
David

J-440
07-03-2012, 05:45 PM
Dave, talked to a FAST tech guy and because of the size of the injectors, there is no way the pulse width will go low enough. I'm new at all this and am still learning. I've been working on this car for 12 years and am not about to screw up anything internally. Thanks for the input bro. Keep the advice coming.

Mike Norris
07-04-2012, 01:37 PM
I posted this on the other board also and figured I would post up here.

If the 83lb injectors will be right with the blower on it, then it will still have to idle and low speed cruise with them. Yes, they are way to big for it as an NA setup, but they still need to be dialed in and can be for sure.