PDA

View Full Version : Cage help

BuddyP
03-30-2012, 10:08 AM
Well got ahead of myself when getting the cage welded in before having seats. Unfortunatly I'm 6'-4 and to be decently comfortable here is where I need my seat....

https://static1.pt-content.com/images/noimg.gif

So now the question is, would it be best for me to notch the bottom of the hoop, cut it free at the top and angle it back or cut the hoop free completely and move it straight back? The base plates that it is welded to on the bottom would allow me to move back another 4"-5" further at the base.

LowFast
03-30-2012, 11:28 AM
Sorry, no anwser but I do want to hear others opinions.

sgernon
03-30-2012, 12:06 PM
Sounds like something I would do, I am always getting ahead of myself. I'm no cage expert but everything I've heard says if you want a solid cage you need a continuous hoop. I would be very nervous to notch it. If it was me I would try cutting it off the floor plates an moving the whole thing back. If you lose a lot of tubing when you cut it you could always double your floor plates to make up the height.

Poopy
03-30-2012, 05:06 PM
Cut it free and move it back, not that much work. I'm 6' and have long legs so my seats are always pretty far back, here is how mine ended up in relation to the b-pillar:

https://static1.pt-content.com/images/pt/2012/03/be682985-1.jpg

James OLC
03-30-2012, 07:36 PM
Cut it free at the base and move it back as much as you need to. Build he base plates if you have to make up some space. Most rules state you have to be seated within 6" of the hoop so give yourself some room - double check that the doesn't rub when you are sitting in it.

19,69camaro
03-31-2012, 07:34 AM
I agree what everyone else has said. Another reason to cut it and move it straight back is it still be parallel with your quarter glass. Maybe its my OCD kicking in but I hate when a cage is very visible from the outside.