PDA

View Full Version : 2nd Gen Camaro suspension

spencer
07-09-2005, 11:03 AM
I am planning to build my 70 Z/28 and was wanting to get some suspension input from someone that knows more about it than I do.
This is my first build. First question,I thought about going with a Martz front clip, but a Hotchkis complete suspension system is also something I am leaning towards. Also, the kits that replace the leaf springs, is this the best way to go to get the best handling from my car, or again, would I be better off to go with the Hotchkis kit? I don't have any local tracks that offer track days, but this is something that I would be interested in.
Thank you for your help.

zbugger
07-09-2005, 12:48 PM
First of all, welcome to the site. Secondly, there's a lot of discussion going on regarding 2nd gens lately. For a starter, I'd recommend going with the Hotchkis stuff. It's the easiest to install, and it will help you to learn. There's all kinds of different ways you can go in building your car, but start off simple. If it's your first build, keep it easy so you can learn and expand your knowledge base to build the car better. The Hotchkis kit is a very good start.

WS6
07-09-2005, 03:02 PM
i agree besides easier is usually cheaper as well. if your goals arent too hardcore then there really isnt a need for a hardcore set up. a fiberglass monoleaf conversion is something i consider hardcore. you can do a lot with the factory suspension setup so why convert it to something else. the only monoleaf conversion i know of is made by VBP and its a pretty big install. requires a lot of changes and in the end maybe complete over kill. money that was spent on an overkill suspension could have been spent on the engine or brakes possibly.

spencer
07-09-2005, 08:01 PM
I appreciate the info, The hotchkis kit is what I am going with, plus some fatmanfab tubular upper and lower control arms.
Thanks for the tips.

spencer
07-09-2005, 08:03 PM