PDA

View Full Version : Front End Lowering Concerns

ProNovaRat
11-22-2011, 10:17 AM
Hello All,

I am currently in the position to buy some new front end components, but before I do i would like to get some input from the pro-touring community. I am new to the pro-touring scene and I would like to say I am amped about becoming a part of this country wide community. I have a 1970 Nova and I want to lower my center of gravity as much as possible and still be effective for street and track applications. The question I ahve is if I use a 2" drop spindle along with 2" drop spring will I hinder my streetability, and what would be my overall drop? I have also been trying to get some pics of this set up so if anyone out there has any pics with different lowering combinations for a 70 Nova the visual would be a huge help. Ohh and one other thing its big block powered, with a T56 so overall weight is a little heavy but I gotta keep the big block.

ProRat

Rod
11-22-2011, 10:19 AM
a 2 inch spring and 2 inch spindle, might work together but be carefull some tube arms also have a drop built in, and that low limits your tire size, ask aroun here, Im sure all the Nova guys can Direct you for a good start

exwestracer
11-22-2011, 10:27 AM
Welcome. Hope we can help.
To do this "right", it's not exactly that simple. I would set the suspension up so the lower control arms are level at ride height. That will give you the most accurate camber change and least amount of side scrub as the suspension moves. Then decide how much lower you may want the body over the tire, and choose a drop spindle (if necessary) to get there.

Once you pull the springs out and level the lower arms, you can measure how long the installed height of the spring needs to be. Then select circle track springs with the correct rate to match the nose weight and the installed height you need.

ProNovaRat
11-22-2011, 10:49 AM
Exwestracer,