PDA

View Full Version : New guy from Oregon

T toney
10-12-2011, 07:50 PM
Hi,

Tj here from Oregon. Been looking at the site for about six months, but finally bought the car worthy of some work so I had to get serious and join. Just acquired a 67 Camaro SS 396. Previous owner did a fair bit of work, but lacks a bunch of the cool pro touring gear. It has a 4speed manual, posi 3.36 rear, with power steering and disc front brakes. Im not a great mechanic but have some general knowledge so Im hoping that with the help from some experienced builders I can add some great pro touring attributes to my dream car. I will be posting some pics in the near future.

The car drives pretty good now, but has a stock suspension and steering system. I will have about 5k available for the first round of upgrades and could really use some advice on what to do first. Engine and Tranny are recently rebuilt and the engine is a monster.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

solarguy09
10-12-2011, 09:00 PM
Hello. I am a newbie to the site too. My car is in for touring upgrades right now...
I am not the guy to talk to about upgrades. Some of these guys on here are way smart about this stuff.
Good luck and i look forward to viewing your build on the projects/builds section...

Apogee
10-13-2011, 07:14 AM
Welcome to the board! What's your end goal for the car? Is this a daily-driver that might see the occasional auto-x event and/or canyon run or is this something that you would like to push hard up at ORP or PIR as often as possible? Do you plan on driving it year round or is it going to be garaged once the snow flies and the roads are covered with ice and cinder?

There's no shortage of things you can spend money on, however the more you plan things up front, the better off you, your car and your wallet will be in the long run.

Tobin
KORE3

CruizinKev
10-13-2011, 09:30 AM
welcome aboard!

T toney
10-13-2011, 10:05 AM