PDA

View Full Version : Demon problems

jerebus67
06-06-2005, 08:11 AM
I am not too technical but wanted to see if anyone else has this problem and any suggestions? I have a ZZ4 crate motor and purchased the 650 Barry Grant carb for it. We have had nothing but problems setting the carb up. It idles well and runs ok but it seems like the low end power just isnt there. When putting the car in the garage after I drive it the garage just stinks of gas. I am thinking about pulling it off and putting an edelbrock on it? I would really like to obviously tune this carb so if anyone knows anyone in the Bloomington IL area that is good please let me know.
The garage stinks up the whole house, any idea why it is so rich?

Travis B
06-06-2005, 08:37 AM
What kind of shape are the power valves or valve in?
Float level fron and rear???
What do the plugs look like after idling for awhile, is there any black smoke or hestation off idle??

jerebus67
06-06-2005, 08:59 AM
We have been through 2 sets of plugs since we put it on. We havent had a problem for a month or so now. Any suggestions?

Travis B
06-06-2005, 10:58 AM
What plugs are you running! Was carb new when it was put on....

jerebus67
06-06-2005, 12:47 PM
Regular stock plugs, New carb, new ZZ4

Matt@RFR
06-06-2005, 03:21 PM
Well, first of all, put some real spark plugs in it like NGK's. :)

Yeah, check the power valves. Suck on the end opposite the spring and stick your tongue to the opening...if it holds vacuum, it's good. And gas tastes good.

Demon carburetors are NOT Holleys! They don't tune anything like a Holley....in a good way. They are VERY sensitive, and need to be tuned accurately, and in very small steps. As an example, don't turn the idle mixture screws anymore than an 1/8 turn at a time.

Set transfer slot exposure to .040" primary, .020" secondary, and as you adjust curb idle mixture and the idle speed changes, use BOTH primary and secondary curb idle screws to adjust RPM. Again, this is very sensitive.