PDA

View Full Version : What kinds of Bodywork materials do you guys use?

Andrew McBride
06-03-2005, 09:44 PM
Well I know everyone uses different kinds of primers, body fillers, spray guns, paint, ect. I was curious to see what all you guys use and your opinions about the products.

For me,
Paint gun: Binks gun to primer with and a Sharpe gun for paint.
Body fillers: Dynalite
Primers: transtar primers
Paint:
Sanders: basic 6" air sander and 8"

Pretty basic for me but I am still a rookie.

myclone
06-03-2005, 11:14 PM
Sata HVLP gun for paint
El cheapo import/throw away for primer/sealers
Sikkens paint/primers
Hustler air board sander (snap on)
Snap on 6" DA sander for fine work
El cheapo import/throw away DA for heavy work (40 or 80 grit)
3M for my supplies like tape/masking paper/sand paper unless the body shop supply store has something cheaper they want me to try out.

TRILOGYZ28
06-03-2005, 11:41 PM
Sharpe HVLP Cobalt gun for primers
Sharpe HVLP Cobalt gun for basecoats/clearcoats
Diamont primers
Diamont basecoats/clearcoats
Detroit Pneumatic air tools

ProdigyCustoms
06-04-2005, 03:41 AM
For paint:
My new Sata Digital RP makes a Rock Star painter out of you
A couple Sata Jet 90s
Sata NR95
For primer and Poly I just bought a Sata LM2000
A couple cheapys.
I use very little air tools at all:
A bondo eater
A Hutchins DA
Don't own a Air File, do ninty percent of my stuff by hand
Have a large selction of blocks, Dura Blocks ROCK! I like the yellow 3M blocks also.

68protouring454
06-04-2005, 08:18 AM
for paint:]
sata jet rp 1.4 sealer
2-sata nr2000 hvlp 1.3, base/clear
finishline 1.8 urethane primer/**** gun
cheap 2.0 tip, for spray mask/ industrial coatings
anest iwata/air gunsa HTE 3.0 for polyester
air advantage 6 inch da/3/32 orbit
8 inch mud hog
all hand blocks after that, my mudhog will make it straighter than a straightline sander anyway, then its by hand to finish
as frank says durablocks are awesome
sand paper-carborundum premier
paint-standox