PDA

View Full Version : Rearend back brace question

Matt@RFR
08-28-2004, 01:23 PM
Hey guys. My background is mostly in drag race cars, and the way I understand the purpose of backbraces is that without one, in a hard enough hitting car, the rear tires will toe in slightly on launch, and maybe the 1-2 and 2-3 gear change. The more this flexing is allowed to happen, the weaker the axle tubes will get, and in time, the problem can get worse and worse until something breaks. Anyone have another theory?

My question to you...In a high horsepower road race car (say 750fwhp+), is a backbrace A) mandatory, B) good insurance, or C) for looks?

MrQuick
08-30-2004, 11:49 PM
Hey Matt, Im not going to give you an ABC answer cause I suck at multiple choice question. Plus you didn't list D- All of the above
I think any kind of stress whether drag racing or road racing is bad so a brace would be a good idea.In road racing you got constant acceleration and braking so to compare the two isn't fair. I don't think its mandatory, is it in NHRA?? putting the power to the ground and not in torsional loading force is always a good thing.... what the hell did I just say??

Matt@RFR
08-31-2004, 07:07 AM
By mandatory, I meant that, in your opinion, a back brace is needed on a high hp car. You brought up a good point about braking too...it would have the same effect, only backwards.

The same effect, only backwards?? Oh boy........

Thanks Vince!

parsonsj
08-31-2004, 08:32 AM
Matt,
I don't know either, but something neither you or Vince mentioned is unsprung weight. I think suspension engineer types would tell you that unsprung weight is something to be avoided as much as possible. So if the brace isn't needed to keep the rear end together, it is probably best left off.
jp

MrQuick
09-01-2004, 07:17 AM