PDA

View Full Version : Rebuilding Engines for Profit

GetDown
08-05-2010, 03:51 PM
Hi,
I'm a huge pro-touring fan. Unfortunately I am still in college so funds are tight. I have a 2004.5 Volvo s40 and a 1979 c10 longbed that I put to work. I was thinking of working my way to the car I really want. Mostly likely a 68-72 Nova with some QA1s so it can corner like my volvo but still have plenty of power. At this point in time anything I buy will need tons of work which also means money. Is it worth pulling engines from the junkyard (if its not cracked) or from a seller, hot tanking it etc. and rebuilding it, then selling it? Is there any money in that? Would I have to replace camshafts etc.? I also thought about pulling profitable cars from junkyards, media blasting them, then selling them. Thoughts and suggestions please? Thanks, I'm just really trying to learn and work my way to something I can be proud of.

edog1
08-05-2010, 09:17 PM
I think the profit margin compared to the time you invested would be minimal. Not to mention if money is tight and you rebuild an engine and you made a mistake you will need to pay for the repairs. I would recommend trying to find part time job rebuilding engines for a shop where you can make an hourly rate and limit your liability. Welcome to the forum

John Wright
08-06-2010, 03:17 AM
Unless you have the equipment(read full machine shop), I would say that by the time you farm out the machine work, there won't be much extra money left over for your pockets, unless you ask an unreasonable amount for your engines.

Don't get me wrong......I certainly don't want to be a stick in the mud or a discouraging word....I love to see folks willing to work to better themselves....it's just that I don't see any real money to be made unless you can do the whole package start to finish....and then you still have to keep your costs down so that you can be competitive with the other shops around your area.