PDA

View Full Version : Leaf spring vs. 4 link???

Boerger
07-28-2010, 06:08 PM
I am currently restoring a 70 Camaro, mainly for a fast street car/ strip car, but I don't want to rule out standing mile and autocross. The rear frame rails and wheel tubs are pretty rusted out, so I am going to replace them with mini-tubs and new frame rails, moved in a few inches.
I am a beginner at suspension, and would like to start with something simple to tweak on, but after reading this http://http://www.racetec.cc/shope/, I think I am more confused than before. haha
My question is, after doing all that work, should I bother to add leaf springs back, or just replace it with a 4 link setup? Is there a simple 4 link setup doesn't require alot of calculations?

Thanks in advance
Chris

ProdigyCustoms
07-28-2010, 07:49 PM
We are drag racers and autocrossers. If you want to use leafs that will handle well and drag race well, it won't happen. Handling leafs are muti leaf design and have stiff rates, drag race leafs are mono leaf design and are soft rates. Both will work well in there respective arenas, but wil suffer badly when out of their comofrt zone.

Triangle 4 links in general offer the most veristitily to do do both drag and handling and also ride well. The Chris Alston G Link is the most adjustable and easiest to install. It is also our most popular rear suspension of all 5 braands of F Body suspension we sell.

Boerger
07-28-2010, 08:33 PM
That sounds like a pretty solid plan. I looked on their website but couldn't find a description of any triangulated 4 links. How much does a basic kit run?

ProdigyCustoms
07-29-2010, 04:53 AM
Your looking a tick nrth of $2000 depending whcih system and options we choose

SLO_Z28
07-29-2010, 04:55 PM
If you want to use leafs that will handle well and drag race well, it won't happen.

There has to be guys well into 10's with Global West cat5 springs.

ProdigyCustoms
07-29-2010, 05:25 PM