PDA

View Full Version : LS weight savings

CCC
07-17-2010, 05:57 AM
I am just starting to plan a build and could use some advice. A friend sent me here and said you guys knew your stuff.

I want to build the most useful car possible. I have a Chevy 454 but was curious about reading about weight savings with the LS motor. What kind of real world advantage would the LS give me over my 454. My 454 has a lot of torque and HP, more so than a standard LS. Does the weight of the motor make that much difference or could you offset the negative handling effects by relocating the 454?

CCC
07-17-2010, 06:03 AM
Also looking for the best possible 2nd gen camaro suspension. Wow there are a lot of options now. DSE, Speedtech, Schwartz and others I can't think right now.

How does one go about deciding which to pick?

SixD7
07-17-2010, 06:55 AM
I've often wondered about the weight savings too. I'm no expert but I think the better handling will out weigh the power of the 454 and you can always build an LS to make as much power as you want.

79-TA
07-17-2010, 12:13 PM
On a tighter autocross there is no question. There's hardly enough room to put down the power from the most mild small block so handling is definitely the priority.

On a road course, much of what you gain on a straight can be instantly lost if the car is not competent in the braking zones.

I'll let the actual LS swappers bring the figures, but I think the weight savings from a traditional small block short block to an LS shortblock is about 90 pounds.

As far as making power goes, the LS offers much better top end breathing and cylinder head options. This advantage is so significant that comapanies now make hybrid blocks that have traditional SBC bottom ends but are meant for LS cylinder heads.

If you do run the 454, save yourself at least 50 pounds up front by running aluminum cylinder heads.

jeff s
07-17-2010, 06:16 PM
LS is about 390 lbs.
Old school small block is about 575.
BBC is 675

CamaroAJ