PDA

View Full Version : 70 Monte Front Suspension Build.. Thoughts

LS1MonteSS
07-06-2010, 07:19 PM
Hello all.. Newbie here :cheers:
So I have been poking around on this site and a few others trying to piece together my best course of action for my 70 Monte..

I got the car with 56K original miles on it with the original motor and interior.. from what i can tell the passenger door is not original.. but there is no damage anywhere to explain the door change...

A few months back I pulled the old springs (which someone used a torch on to lower the car :machine:) I threw in a set of rear springs i had laying around and a old set of QA1 Coil overs, but it still drove like crap...

This past weekend I got in my Hotchkis 1" drop springs and matching shocks and knocked out the install in a few hours.. But it still doesn't sit right for me... So back to the forums for some research,,,

My new plan after reading all the pros' & con's of the different things I read. I'd like to go with a set of Hotchkis upper and lower A-arms (but there is no real input on weather they address geometry issues), with a ATS AFX Tall Spindles and billet steering arms (those for sure will correct any and all bump steer issues), and trim the coils to bring the lower A-Arm parallel with the ground. ...

This is where i need all the advice you all can give me...

Thx,
Kevin:thankyou:

1badchevelle
07-06-2010, 07:27 PM
Call Marcus as SC&C. http://www.scandc.com/

MCMLXIX
07-06-2010, 07:39 PM
I like the ATS spindles because they use sealed hubs, address goemetry and have multiple bolt on brake options (OEM C5 Corvette or Aftermarket). The only side note is wheel size with the brake options: Some 17" wheels fit but you're looking mostly at 18" wheels...