PDA

View Full Version : How to increase stiffness against twisting on a convertible-subframe

hannes_slanec
07-05-2010, 12:29 AM
Building a 68 Impala Pro Touring and would like add twin-hairdryers on a 540 - I expect around a 1000HP.

In that performance-range of course some consiederation should come to the subframe.

In any other car one could say lets go for a 10-point rollcage or something similar but that would make a convertible totally pointless.

What are the technics to improve/modify a subframe.
Some illustrating pics would be lovely.

I saw an aftermarket frame for a C2 or 3, and the left and right frame rails was done from small tubes in order work like the framework of a crane, that looks quite strong to me and I would like to do so too.

hannes_slanec
07-08-2010, 02:32 AM
No answer in a Pro-Touring-Forum???

Thats sad.

derekf
07-08-2010, 03:31 AM
I'm not an expert at anything so don't take me as gospel, but I have read a lot of threads here and I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once.

First off, I was under the impression that Impalas were a full-frame car, not subframed? I don't know if by 68 they'd moved away from that wishbone design to a perimeter frame though.

Searches expire, so I can't do it for you and post a link, but it seems like in other similar discussions the real outcome is that you can't get torsional stiffness like you're looking for without adding some height to the frame either in the form of a cage or at the very least some very tall door bars - the tradeoff between how much inconvenience you're willing to accept versus how much strength you're wanting. "Torsional" is a good search term, and the contents of the Advanced Technical forum have quite a few suspension/torsional rigidity threads.

Hope this helps.

psy4s
07-08-2010, 04:02 AM