PDA

View Full Version : Datsun 240Z

boodlefoof
05-08-2005, 06:22 PM
Well, I've been mentioning the plans for this project for a few months on this site... now, it is time to start!

I went and picked up the new project car on Saturday... a 1973 Datsun 240Z. It is just a rolling chassis... only the body, suspension, tires and steering. But, it only cost $150 and it is pretty solid.

So, the plan...

1. customize the body by hand-sculpting some fiberglass body panels... staying true to the spirit of the Z, but allowing a little more room for some big tires and widening the track width a few inches on each side.

2. build a complete triangulated spaceframe chassis from scratch.

3. design and build custom front and rear suspension and then add brakes and steering.

4. plop the modified Z body down on the spaceframe and then put together the floor.

5. Install a healthy forced induction FI small block backed with a 6 speed manual trans and rear geared for high speeds.

6. slap in an interior.

7. try to reach the 200mph barrier...

Let the fun begin!!!

For some pics and a writeup of the project, check out my website. Click the link in my sig' and click the "Project Racer-Z" link. I'll keep updating as I get work done.

If you try the page and it says I've exceeded my bandwidth... forgive me. Geocities shuts me down for an hour or two when I get too much traffick.

kmcanally
05-08-2005, 06:35 PM
nice...have you seen http://www.servinitup.com/pictures/240z/small/small72.jpg

check out this Z at www.darius240z.com....

boodlefoof
05-08-2005, 06:39 PM
Yup, I've been over to Darius' site a few times. I also got some info on his fender flares from him a month or two back. Nice looking car.

Ralph LoGrasso
05-08-2005, 09:17 PM
John,

Keep us updated on the project, sounds very cool. I love 240Zs, especially PT'd ones.

boodlefoof
05-09-2005, 05:15 AM