PDA

View Full Version : Need help prepping for Auto-X

GeoffP
06-21-2010, 07:35 PM
I need a little help prepping for the Auto-X since I've never done it before. What things do I specifically need to be sure of?

These are the things I know of that my car is good (common sense stuff)

Battery bolted down
3 point seat belts (Morris belts)
Good tires (what about tread wear - my rears are 180)
No leaks (need a new gas cap - suggestions?)
decent front end alignment

Car is the 68 Camaro in my sig - 17" wheels F&R 245/45's and 275/40's.

What about a helmet?? I don't currently own one...

Thanks!!

rrunner68
06-21-2010, 07:47 PM
Most SCCA events will have helmets to borrow, but I would say an open mind to having a good time. If you don't have someone who has been before going with you, don't worry about pro'ing it up your first time, just go, participate and get a feel for the flow of things. A decent bag full of tools is a good Idea, and make sure your Lug nuts are properly torqued. Spend about 2 hours the night before and really inspect your vehicle, tires, bearings, brakes, fluids, etc. You should show up at the track ready to run, because with registration and tech and numbering your car, you'll be busy.

JEFFTATE
06-22-2010, 11:52 AM
Make sure you have :
The battery secured.
Good Tires.
Good brakes , meaning they work when you press the pedal.( no pumping)
A helmet.
No fluid leaks.
Seatbelts ( lap belts and shoulder belts , or 3 point belts will work)

We are not having a treadwear rating rule at the PSMC ( yet).
We may institute some treadwear rules and have different classes of cars as the event grows ( next year ).

As far as the gas cap goes.
I use a vented cap for normal driving , and I substitute a non-vented cap while on the track.
( so fuel doesn't slosh out the filler neck )
Then I switch the caps back after the run.
So it doesn't build up pressure in the tank..

GeoffP
06-22-2010, 05:41 PM
Jeff,