PDA

View Full Version : 1951 Chevy Sus-please No Mustang2

JRODHOTROD
04-28-2005, 08:28 PM
After trolling the board for a while, I finally decided to register.
This is my first post.

I am building a 1951 chevy styleline deluxe 2dr sedan
I picked the car up 2 months ago and have completely stripped it down. I plan in the next few weeks to remove the shell and begin blasting the frame. Upon completion I would like to begin installaion of my dana IRS. The next problem is to tackle the 55 year old front suspension. This is where I have a delima...

I have no experience with mustang/pinto suspension
After alot of research, I have come to the conclusion that this tpe of front suspension is not the best handling, but just the best "packaged"

I need other suggestions...I am willing to clip it
Track width 57" +/- .125 hub to hub

Thanks in advance
Jared

MrQuick
04-28-2005, 08:48 PM
welcome to the site and congrates for registering.
We did a 49 Chev with a 73' Camaro front end and came out very well, After that we grafted an 85 Corvette front engine/suspension cradle to a 50 Ford pick up frame, that worked out even better. In both cases put the engines in there right places.
Depends on what you can get your hands on I suppose.

JRODHOTROD
04-28-2005, 09:37 PM
I am a CAD designer and will draw plans before any work is done
I was wondering what kind of clearance issues arose when grafting the camaro suspension

67bird
04-28-2005, 09:40 PM
Have you considered using a first gen subframe? DSE has a car on their website, I think it is an older Oldsmobile that they put a first gen sub in with all of there goodies. Also since all you are using is just the middle section of the frame you could probably score one that the mounts are rusted out for a decent price.

MrQuick
04-28-2005, 10:52 PM
No clearance issues at all, we cut the original frame back to where the rear of the camaro frame ended it was boxed .The width was close. A new TCI firewall was made up for it.