PDA

View Full Version : Lets talk unsprung weight

Ralph LoGrasso
04-26-2005, 01:13 PM
I'm curious as to what kind of effect unsprung weight will have on a given car in controlled circumstances. Just how detrimental to handling / acceleration / decelaration will the addition of unsprung weight be (ie, larger wheels / tires). Are there any calculations that can be performed to see what kind of effect you're looking at? ie: 1 added pound of unsprung weight will decrease acceleration to given speed (handling / braking) by X seconds (g's, feet) all else remaining the same.

Besides the calculations, how detrimental would the addition of say 10 lbs of unsprung weight over stock be at each corner (again larger wheels / tires). Can the problem be solved with stiffer springs and larger sway bars, (even sticker tires in terms of handling)?

Thoughts?

dgumoe
04-26-2005, 02:12 PM
ralph, im by no means an expert in suspension, i do however know that unsprung weight sucks. thats why irs is a nice feature. it reduces unprung weight because the differential is bolted to the frame, which allows you to run a lighter spring rate because there's less crap bouncing on the suspension. you can run a stiffer spring but obviously ride quality suffers. i think the latest PHR has a writeup on this sort of thing

baz67
04-26-2005, 08:27 PM
Ralph,

Think this way. Take ten lbs and hold it in your hand with an outstreched arm. Now take your arm and move it up and down. Now imagine that same weight at your shoulder area moving up and down. Does that help you see how that is not good.

Now for how it affect braking and acceleration. The added mass of a larger rim acts like a flywheel. It will require more work to get it moving, more power, and conversly more braking to slow it down. So you get a double wammy with added unsprung on the wheel.

You wheel is basicly a gyroscope. The more mass, the more energy it takes to move it. That could equel slower steering responce.

wickedmotorhead