PDA

View Full Version : master cylinder bore size.s10 rear disk swap.

bmx1112
03-11-2010, 06:14 PM
Im running power brakes on my 1980 camaro, the front brakes are stock calipers while i have changed the rear to a s10 disk setup, The front brake line with a T and the rear line running from the master to a adjustable prop valve. Anyone done this swap and can reccomend a mastercylinder to use. Rite now i have a 1 1/8 bore master from a disk disk 79 vette and the brake pedal is half way to the floor before it does anything. will switching to a 1inch bore help? any insite to this? Also the stock master from my car is also a 1 1/8 bore what is the difference between what the stock one and the corvette duel bail master does?

Skip Fix
03-12-2010, 04:13 PM
Your stock 80 should have had a 1 1/8 to begin with also, if it has a residual pressure valve in the rear you can just remove it and re use that MC. They are under the flair fitting that seals the brake line.Looks like a press in brass fitting. The Vette might have a deeper recess for the rod and not be getting full travel.

Even the factory 4WD Trans Ams used a 1 1/8" MC. the 79-80s a iron and the 81s a quick take up aluminum. The aluminum has a larger OD register so it will not fit the earlier power boosters for the cast iron MC.

DAK
03-12-2010, 05:46 PM
With that setup you should have a very firm brake pedal. You have air in the lines. When I swapped to rear disc on my car I had a heck of a time getting the rear bleed out. I opened up the front bleeders to get enough pedal travel to move fluid to the rear.

bmx1112
03-12-2010, 05:58 PM
Your stock 80 should have had a 1 1/8 to begin with also, if it has a residual pressure valve in the rear you can just remove it and re use that MC. They are under the flair fitting that seals the brake line.Looks like a press in brass fitting. The Vette might have a deeper recess for the rod and not be getting full travel.