PDA

View Full Version : Center Link/tie rods/idler arm--does brand matter?

jocko124
02-27-2010, 10:59 AM
Gents,

I'm want to redo my front end suspension with SC&C's AFX package. I also want to replace my tie rods, center link, idler arm, pitman arm. I was thinking Moog parts, but I noticed Global West and Hotchkis sell "premium" steering components at a "premium" price. Can you really get a high tech center link/tie rod or is it just "premium" marketing? Seems like marketing to me, but I'm no suspension expert. Thoughts?

Thanks

wmhjr
02-27-2010, 11:32 AM
Here's my experience..... I can't remember how the Olds components are. This is from a Pontiac perspective.

I went with the SC&C Stage 2+ setup, and at the same time ordered a Spohn front end setup including center link, tie rods, idler and tie rod adjusters. Got them in and everything seemed fine.

Until I tried to install.

Things just weren't going together the way I expected, and then I tried connecting to the Pitman arm. Whoops - completely different bore. Turns out that lots of folks think all the GM A-Body components are identical - but they aren't. I layed out the center link and measured end to end. No problem. But, the pin locations were different. Slightly. Just enough to matter.

I had two choices. Replace the Pitman arm with a Chevy arm and try and use this stuff, hoping that nothing else would be a fitment issue, but I was concerned that the different dimensions of the timing cover, oil pan shape, etc, would possibly create a problem with the center link. So, instead I returned those Spohn items and got Pontiac parts - but kept the heavy duty tie rod adjusters. BTW - both Marcus and Steve Spohn were perfectly helpful in working this out. No complaints here. Steve was a little slow to get back to me initially, but not terribly and he does have a business to run.