PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here. Qa1 coilover or Hotchkis springs w/gas shocks?

72nova72
04-13-2005, 07:19 AM
Hey everyone. Newbie here need help with some questions. I have a '72 Nova that I'm trying to fix up. I have an opportunity to buy a brand new set up QA1's coilover gmp14 for a decent price or buy the Hotchkis springs and a set of koni/kyb gas shocks. My question is. What's better for the type of driving that I'm going to do and the most bang for the buck. I'm going to be mostly driving as a daily driver/cruiser with some fun curve driving once in a while. I'm also looking to get the hotchkis front sway bar and their rear leaf springs. The motor is a 350 small block with aluminum heads. I'm going to be running 17x8 rims all the way around the car. So, what kind of ride quality would I expect from the coilover or from the hotchkis for that matter. Also, I'm looking into doing the Guldstrand mod and maybe using Global West's offset shaft. Can anyone help me get pointed in the right direction. Is this a good set up? Any opinion would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

MikeDVC
04-13-2005, 08:12 AM
I have a 75 Camaro with Hotchkis front and rear springs, KYB shocks, 16 inch wheels. Using the car for street it corners great and rides very nice. I was expecting a stiff / hard ride but it's not.

Since you have aluminum heads, you may need to trim the front springs. I have Alum. heads, fiberglass hood, battery in the trunk, so I had to cut off a full coil.

Lowend
04-13-2005, 12:29 PM
Use the Hotchkis springs and matched shocks (labeled Hotchkis, but actually custom valved Bilstien )... excellent setup for street use.

QA1 is a poor design and the shocks are not very dependable

Derek69SS
04-13-2005, 05:11 PM
QA1 is a poor design and the shocks are not very dependable

Please elaborate, I was planning to send them some of my money within the next week.:doh:

Lowend
04-13-2005, 05:26 PM