PDA

View Full Version : Best price putting C4 Vette suspension in big Mustang? Mid south area?

CadVetteStang
10-07-2009, 05:31 AM
I live in Arkansas, and am about to get a 73 Mustang to replace my stolen, Caddy 500 powered 72 Mach 1 clone. This big Stang is 2” wider than a C4 Vette and want to swap in C4 front and rear suspension. There is already 7 and ½” backspace available between the rear hubs and the leaf springs, so the frame rails should be in about the right spot and I don’t think the car will have to be back-halved to do the rear swap, but mini-tubs are a given.

In the front, I think the Vette frame rails are narrower (maybe enough to fit just inside the Stang frame rails making a front section cut and weld pretty straight forward. GM inner front fenders could be used to form the new metal replacing the Stang shock towers. Because of the small amount of fabrication that would be needed in this swap, I’d do the work myself if I was a welder and had the equipment to measure and line it all up, but I can’t do it.

I can get used front AND rear Vette suspension for half the money that it would take to buy all that is needed to modify the Stang’s front suspension to a road race setup with 13” brakes. Even with the best aftermarket setup, the stock C4 suspension would still handle better.

I just need to find a trustworthy shop that can do the work strong enough that I can trust my life to driving it at triple digit speeds and who can do the work without driving up the price to the ridiculous Mustang Aftermarket level. I’d also like it to be within driving distance of Little Rock, Arkansas if that is possible. (Memphis, TN would be 2 hours away while Dallas, TX would be 6 hours away.)

If the shop is priced right, I’d let them build the motor mounts and tranny mount adaptor for the Caddy 500/Th400 engine/tranny swap as well.

Any recommendations for shops that might like to take on this Cad-Vette-Stang project as a budget build?

baggins
10-07-2009, 12:38 PM