PDA

View Full Version : Orange peel in sealer

tintman
09-19-2009, 04:20 PM
I have only posted a couple of times but i troll this site often. I just painted my 88 mustang gt and have a good amount of orange peel. My question is, this is the first time I haver ever sprayed a wet on wet sealer and I believe most of the Orange peel started in the sealer. I sprayed 3 heavey coats of clear to try to flatten it out as much as possable and even ended with some pretty good runs. Will wet sanding and pollishing take the orange peel look out even if it started in the sealer? This is the 4th car I have painted and never had the orange peel like this. I have never done a finish sand on a car before so any input on that would help also. I used the sherwin williams ultra 7000 and it is grabber blue in color. Thanks for the addvice I realy respect the oppinions on this site.

My427stang
09-20-2009, 07:10 AM
As a guy who sucked a lot of paint fumes over the years, I can just say this. You know the answer......block it out and see what happens.

If you have enough material to cut and buff, it could be the best looking job you've every done. If you don't, keep sanding and shoot it again, but this time you wont need sealer because the color will already be there.

Either way, problem solved LOL

If you do have to shoot again, read the label closely. New materials really need to be sprayed the way they tell you. Pressure, tip, temp, and it even tells you how it will lay out (med wet and let flow, or apply to desired flow) The latter meaning spray it the way you want to see it because it wont lay out over time.

Good luck

justasquid
09-20-2009, 08:02 AM
^^^ I agree 100 percent^^^

was it a solid color? If it was, your probably going to be ok. But if it was a metallic or pearl, you may be out of luck ( Im not sure if grabber blue is) If the orange peel is very heavy with those types of paint, you may see it even through the clear.