PDA

View Full Version : help with camera

72nova
07-16-2009, 05:31 PM
My wife wants to get a new camera. I've been looking at 3 different ones Nikon d40 and d60 and canon xs. I have been leaning more towards the canon. I am camera dumb but the point and shoot we have now has its limits. I would like in the future to be able to change lenses to expand my picture taking abilities. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ls1 nova
07-16-2009, 05:59 PM
When I bought mine I was also split between the d60 and the cannon. As I am by no means a photography expert I think a beginner would be hard presses to tell the difference between the two. I went with the canon and love it. Takes 500 or so pics on a charge. Both cameras have more options than I will ever use but its fun to play with. A lot better than my 35mm that I had to pay for bad experimental exposures. I also like the fact that there is no shutter delay, missed a tone of pics with my old digital. Look into a flash for it, I bought one and it really makes a difference indoors. Just my .02.

andrewb70
07-16-2009, 06:03 PM
There is also nothing wrong with buying gently used cameras. I would look into a Canon D20 or D30. I bet those can be picked up, cheap.

Andrew

Samckitt
07-16-2009, 06:10 PM
I have a Canon 10D & a 30D & they are both great. Obviously the 30D is better, but it is newer. I think my brother bought a 50D, I think, it is pretty nice.

72nova
07-16-2009, 06:12 PM
As far as megapixels go, how much difference is the d40 with 6 and the d60 and xs with 10, and not just 4 ha ha.

ls1 nova
07-16-2009, 06:27 PM
As far as I know, not very much until you go to enlarge a pic. Not sure how big you can go with 6mg, but you can get a pretty damn big pic with 10 or 12. Maybe someone more knowledgeable will chime in?

rebelgtp
07-17-2009, 08:08 AM
Okay I will chime in here considering well I am a photographer and have used all of the above cameras lol.